Apply for Rosalind Franklin Award for Young Investigators by April 15

Our friends at the Genetics Society of America, one of ASBMB’s “sister” societies, alerted us to the forthcoming deadline for the Rosalind Franklin Young Investigator Award. The award is for women in the first three years of independent faculty positions. Nominations, including self-nominations, are due April 15.

The Franklin award, which is funded by The Gruber Foundation, goes every three years to two winners, one studying genetics in humans or other mammals and one studying nonmammalian models. Each winner gets an unrestricted (but taxable) cash prize of $25,000 per year for three consecutive years. (The disbursements for will be 2019, 2020 and 2021).

Nominees need not be U.S. citizens or on the tenure track. They can be of any age. Importantly, nominees whose first three years as independent investigators were interrupted by maternity leave are encouraged to apply even if they are now a bit beyond the three-year cutoff.

For more information about the selection criteria, a bit of which is excerpted below, see the award website:

  • Is the nominee clearly building on her expertise through the years?

  • Does she show scientific creativity and leadership?

  • Does she have demonstrated independence in developing her scientific research?

  • Has she made seminal discoveries on her own?

Past winners include Maria Barna of Stanford University and Carolyn McBride of Princeton University.

The award is administered by a joint committee appointed by GSA, the American Society of Human Genetics and The Gruber Foundation.

Image adapted from this retouched image by Robin Stott on Flickr.

Categories: Announcements

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.