Call for nominations: 2020 Lurie Prize in Biomedical Sciences

Guest post | The Lurie Prize in Biomedical Sciences, presented by the Foundation for the National Institutes of Health, recognizes the outstanding achievement of a promising young scientist in biomedical research. Nominations of scientists deserving of the $100,000 prize are due by 5 p.m. Eastern on Sept. 12.

A distinguished jury of six biomedical researchers, chaired by Solomon H. Snyder will select the winner.

The award will be presented at the FNIH Award Ceremony on May 20 in Washington, D.C., in front of leaders from the NIH, pioneers in biomedical science, the biotech and pharmaceutical industries, philanthropists and business executives.

Previous recipients include:

  • 2019: Yasmine Belkaid, National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases
  • 2018: Zhijian “James” Chen, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
  • 2017: David M. Sabatini, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • 2016: Jeannie T. Lee, Harvard Medical School
  • 2015: Karl Deisseroth, Stanford University
  • 2014: Jennifer Doudna, University of California, Berkeley
  • 2013: Ruslan M. Medzhitov, Yale University School of Medicine

This prize is made possible by a generous gift from philanthropist Ann Lurie.

Learn more and nominate a colleague today.

Categories: Announcements

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.